Necromancer strikes back (Sabriel)

Sabriel

rating: three stars

In short Sabriel is the story of a girl who goes on an adventure to rescue her father. To be more detailed, the girl, Sabriel is a necromancer. She just finished school when she learns that her father is trapped somewhere in death and has to go into the old kingdom to find his body and rescue him.

To be frank I had a hard time getting into the story manly because of Sabriel as a character, I did not care for her at all and most of the time she doesn’t know what she’s doing.  But now that I think about it, it’s only for the reader to get better into the Old Kingdom, because Sabriel don’t know much about it too. So the reader is in the same position she is, even more since the other side of the wall is actually a version of our modern world (they have electricity and running water). I think that’s what perplexed me at the beginning.

Yet! After you get past that stage it’s a good book. Even if I think Sabriel is not a well-developed character, the others are very interesting especially Mogget.

The plot in genral was okay I don’t have anything to say about it. It was logical and flowing so it was pretty good.

Aside from that what really bothered me was the world itself. They are no explanations on how it came to be divided as such and how one part gets electricity and the other gets magic. Yet magic can work across the wall… See the problem?

I did enjoy reading it but I might not read the other books because my favorite character was Touchstone and I don’t think he appears in Lireal..? Well I’ll see! For me it’s a good book, not one of my favorite but I think it’s still interesting. Usually for me to really like a book I need my dragons but this one was still great because seriously necromancer and walking dead? Still a good combo.

Also fun fact when you type “Sabriel” on Google the first results are not about the book, just make sure to put the author’s name xD or you will get swapped in the dark world of fanfiction!!!!! Beware!

Cette entrée a été publiée dans fantasy.

Laisser un commentaire

