Cats are back (New Prophecy review)

Warriors 2

WARNING! Spoiler for Warriors series one.

Rating for the three first books: 3.5 stars

Here I am with a new review on an Erin Hunter series. This one is the second Warriors series, The New Prophecy. I only read the three first books Midnight, Moonrise and Dawn.

First I must said I was a bit disappointed with the first two books because of how Firestar changed in just a book, I don’t it’s something that I felt.

Now I cannot talk only of Firestar because the lead character is no longer him. In fact there are several, the four prophecy cats and Firestar’s daughters. That is something I really liked, the fact that several characters are important, it’s more diverse in a way. I really liked Brambleclaw he is a great cat and an interesting character since he has to live with the fact that he is Tigerstar’s son and Firestar’s doubts on his loyalty.

Somehow, for me, the fact that cats from different clans come together is a bit a copy of the last book of the first series until I read book three. Actually even at the end of book two. But sometimes I can’t help but wonder WHY!!!! Why do they need to be divided especially in times of hardship… I think it needs to be explained not just with the sentence “There were always four clans”.

Now! The hardship here is human destroying the forest, and I just thought how accurate it is, I mean how much species are endangered because of our stupid methods to try to control nature. I am a bit disappointed in the fact that Erin Hunter didn’t try to find another solution than the one of the prophecy because she could have come with an epic way to preserve the forest.

Something else that disturbed me was the way kitty pet are coming in the story, they feel a bit like the characters in epic fantasy books that are helping but not taking part in the actual battle. I already said it for the Warriors review, but I’m a bit disappointed that they don’t have a bigger place in the story but I think that the manga concentrate on that. If you want to read the manga it takes place after Dawn but contains spoilers.

I’m not sure if I will continue the series, I kind of want to continue Survivors and read Seekers after that. But we will see!


Cats in power (warrior series review)


Hello Humans!!!

*spoiler free*

series rating: four stars

The Warrior series has been in my heart and on my bookshelves for a long time. I fell in love with Erin Hunter’s books when I was 12 years old and ever since I still read at least one of her books every year. She has an amazing talent for writing about animals and explaining their behaviors through fantasy plots. The first time I read Fireheart’s story I was hooked on the entire series!

This first series is a great way to dive into Erin Hunter’s style, although I suppose that if you want to read another series such as Survivors or Seekers you probably don’t need to start here but if you want to know about the clan cats here is your starting point!

Warriors is her longest and earliest story, it follows the cats of the Thunderclan and mostly Fireheart. It is the story of how a kitty pet Rusty came into the Thunderclan and became a warrior known as Fireheart. As a character Fireheart has every characteristics of a hero, he wants to act for his clan and even transgress rules to help the ones he cares about. His opponent throughout the entire series is Tigerclaw who is the typical bad guy in the series and I was a bit disappointed that he was not as developed as I expected him to be.

The series has a great plot that constantly evolves but the major flaw is the characters. Since their names are changing with their ranks sometimes you can get them a little mixed up especially once you start The New Prophecy, yet it is also a way to have plenty of secondary characters that are all important in their own ways (and sometimes not in the first series but in the second or third).  Now when you try to link them all in a family tree it sounds a bit complicated… BUT! Bear with it because it is worth it!

As I said, the plot is great and interesting and tries to deal with every aspect of the clan. As Rusty becomes Fireheart we learn with him how it’s like to be a warrior cat and how to live in the wild. I thought it was interesting to see how cats of the clans behaved and their lifestyle. And of course I have to talk about my favorite character Bluestar! There is a standalone (which contains spoilers if you have not read the entire first series yet) about her and how she came to be who she is and the choices she had to make, I think she is the most interesting character of this first series.

The standalones can be read without diving into the series but they do contain spoilers so read with caution!!! Of course it is a great way to know more about some characters and parts of the plots of the later series. I think it is a great way to develop characters.

The entire work of Erin Hunter are Middle grade books so they are very easy to read and quick to get into although the series darkens with passing tomes but it goes well with the plot. If you’re a cat lover or an antho amateur go check it out!