Broken Empire series review

broken-empire

Broken Empire series by Mark Lawrence

Rating :

9579634Prince of Thorn : 5 stars

12891107King of Thorns: 4 stars

15985373Emperor of Thorns: 5 stars

Series rating: 4,5 stars

I fell in love with this series in 2016! It was really my favourite discovery. There are so many good things in these books that I could ramble about it for an hour but I will keep it short and without any spoilers and encourage you to go discover it by yourself.

The series follow Jorg of Ancrath the heir to the throne of Ancrath who saw his little brother and his mother being assassinated in front of his eyes while he was caught in a thorn bush. Following to this event Jorg left the castle with a band of criminals called the Brotherhood. But sixteen-year-old Jorg wants to get back his princely position and avenge his family.

First I thought this was your typical revenge plot but what was really fascinating was the character of Jorg. Okay, I admit I may have had a book crush on him. But he is really the type of character I love, he is not good (well not paragon if you’re used to gaming language xD) he is cynical, dark and his opinions are very interesting. He also knows that he is not good and that his world is not a great one. He seems hyper aware of everything even if he sometimes seems to act carelessly. He does have a complex division inside him that is embodied by his two “love interests” if I may call them as such : Katherine and Miana. I will not dwell too much on them because this is spoiler-y.

To get back on the plot, it is quite a common fantasy trope yet the plot twists are well written and keeps the reader’s interest (OMG THE ENDING!). And I did cry at the end so that means it was great!

The downside of the series is the magic system/ technology. It remains a bit blurry throughout the entire development, even if you learn more about it in the third book, yet I would have liked to see more about it.

Ho, one small advice :don’t get attached to the characters, it’s not Game of Throne like but still.
Now, GO READ IT NOW!!!!

That’s it for today’s review, the first of 2017!!!! Also I will now have reviews weekly probably on mondays so see you next week!

3 commentaires sur “Broken Empire series review

  1. Great review, I loved this trilogy, Lawrence is one of my favourite authors.😀

    Aimé par 1 personne

Laisser un commentaire

