Unwrapped Sky review

unwrapped-sky

Unwrapped Sky (Caeli-Amur #1) by Rjurik Davidson

22226827 rating:four stars

This is by far one of the best books I’ve read in 2016 ! After reading the Broken Empire series I had a hard time to get back into fantasy because I had a feeling everything felt the same but this book was great! Absolutely genius for me!

This story follows three characters Kata, Maximillian and Boris, all three are living in a city called Cali-Amur and are taking parts in a series of events that are going to change the city. This is as much un-spoiler-y as this review can get xD.

Okay I will start this review by the first point which made me squeal on my chair when I read it: MINOTAURS! (As you can probably can tell by the drawings xD)Finally a fantasy series with these mythical creatures! I think they are not enough used in series. And I also took off a star in my review because I thought there was not enough on them inside but a little birdie called curiosity told me that there was more in the second book.

Besides minotaurs, the lore is quite interesting we have a mysterious sunken city, creeping creatures that are trying to control humans and others. The city is divided between houses and professions. The magic system remains kind of blurry at the end of this first book, the magicians are called “thaumaturgists” and in my head they are a bit like alchemists although there powers are not really explained except that they have spells and books at the origin.

The world building was great too, I love when you just jump into it and discover everything a bit like the Doctor does xD.

I am not going to say too much on the characters because it will be hard without a spoiler. But if you love fantasy YOU HAVE TO GO READ IT! It’s great and you won’t regret it!

Hey guys! Hope you all had a great start in 2017! Reviews are back weekly! See you next week and take care 😉

Laisser un commentaire

