Stranger in my arms review

stranger-in-my-a

Stranger in my arms by Lisa Kleypas

243206Rating : two stars

This is the story of Larissa, a gentle and naive young lady who lost her husband at sea. She thought she was better than with a husband who treated her like a possession and only wanted children from her but a man coming from India claims to be her husband and intends to take back his place with her.

I started this book thinking that the plot was interesting and changed from all the other Regency novels I read. And indeed the beginning was good we learn that Larissa or Lara hated her husband and he treated her with little care. I thought it was a change to see women despise man in a romantic novel, especially if the Harlequin genre but that was only the beginning.

Even if the writing was good and fluid the plot turned out to be very weak. Everything that should have been going on during the novel precipitates in the last three chapters…. The author chooses to concentrates on the relationship between the two lovers which for a Harlequin novel is quite conventional. Yet in my opinion it just makes Lara out of character because she gives in to a man she is supposed to doubt but after his kisses he doesn’t doubt him even though her husband never liked to kiss so hence the doubt. See the problem?

That brings me to another point, the characters. They were all pretty flat except for Hunter and even he is only okay-ish.

So yes I was a little bit disappointed, but I think it’s because I read Harlequin novels only when I have nothing else to read and I am not particularly fond of this genre however I thing that if you enjoy this type of literature you should really like it.

Laisser un commentaire

