Magic’s promice review

Magic's promise

(Vanyel and Yfendes, scene taken from the book where Vanyel is hiding in the stables xD I laughed so hard when I read it)

Magic’s Promise (book two of the Last Herald-Mage series) by Mercedes Lackey

28760Rating : four stars

After I finished Magic’s Pawn I just had to dive into the next instalment of the Last Herald-Mage series by Mercedes Lackey. I really want to finish more of her series this year, I did remember really liking them as a kid but I could not remember them and there are a lot I never read.

This book takes place more than ten years after the events of Magic’s Promise so this review might spoil some events of the book. We found an older Vanyel Herald-Mage and best friend of the new king of Valdemar.  He just came back from a war zone at the borders of the kingdom, tired and battered and is going to his childhood home. He will have to face his father Withen but also new trouble arising near their lands.

I must say I had a bit of problems with Vanyel at first. He is grown up, but we did not see him grow up so it feels like we are missing something when we share his thoughts and doubts especially the ones Shavri the king’s lifebounded. At first, when Vanyel was questioning her feelings for her I fels like “WOAH! Slow down her! What was that have you forgotten Tylendel?” and in fact the explanation which is given was logical so I was reassured.

Don’t worry, I still hate Savil. She feels exactly like Dumbledor and that is not a kind description coming from me.

By the way, random historian fact time, did you guys know that Valdemar was actually the name of the king of Denmark in the 12th century? It was the historical minute of Panda xD

Something I felt a bit problematic is the fact that we don’t see Vanyel’s training or him during the war hence the very long prologue/context which is why I did not gave this book five stars. In fact the plot really kicks off about a quarter in the book but I feel like the next one will be more bouncy (in a good way).

The writing is also very good, still consistent with all the books I read from Miss Mercy (except the last book in the Heralds trilogy Arrow’s fall) it is very fluid and is not heavy which makes a fantasy book always more enjoyable.

I do hope to finish this series in May (promises, promises….) and I will have a review of the last book as well as a wrap-up of the series when the time comes ^^.

Hey everyone! So I am still very much in the process of writing my dissertation but I have hope to finish it mid-May or at the end of May until then posts will be only once a week. I hope you will all have a great week and until then bye!!!

Laisser un commentaire

