Broken Pride review

Bravelands 1.jpg

(Yep this is the drawing that held my attention for about a month because I could not get it right somehow…. It’s at the beginning of the book so if you read it you know what the scene is 😉 )

Broken Pride (Bravelands series book 1) by Erin Hunter

33295675Rating :five stars

The newest Erin Hunter series finally!!!! I am a huge fan of Erin Hunter’s work, as a kid I was reading the warriors series and I also loved the Survivor series although I have not got my hands on Seekers yet.

This new series follows three animals from the savannah a lion, a baboon and an elephant. All three have joint destinies and have to face some changes in the savannah.

If you are familiar with her works, you probably know that they (yes Erin Hunter is in fact a group of female authors) likes to include animal mythologies in their stories. In fact religion (if you can call it as such) is always a centre part of how animals are acting. Personally I think it is a metaphor for their instincts. 😉

What did I not love in this book? Well, nothing! I was growing tired with the Warrior series and I don’t think I will read the last series (seriously I am getting a bit lost with all the new characters and such…. But I am still reading the new companion’s books) and this one is a breath of fresh air.

I couldn’t help myself but see some similarities with the Lion King, I don’t know if it is wanted or not but the lion’s story is very similar to Simba’s. Or maybe I am just a huge Disney fan who sees Disney references everywhere.

If you are new to Erin Hunter’s books you should, they are middle grade anthropomorphic books but awesome. I think you can start by whichever series you like but bear in mind that if you get hooked on the Warriors series there are loads of books to read!

2 commentaires sur “Broken Pride review

Laisser un commentaire